Can I Be A Graphic Designer With CFS

I am finding myself becoming increasingly frustrated with my CFS. I have so many different things I want to be working on just now (some of which I’m actually getting paid for) and I can’t because I’m so tired. This is mostly because I’m back at college and college work is more important than my personal projects. But it’s annoying because my CFS affects how much I am able to do day to day and week to week.

image for post about working as a graphic designer with cfs, picture shows distorted kitchen utensil

I do everything I can to mitigate how much my CFS affects me, I used a bullet journal to stay organised and I’ve bought a few tools which help tiredness. But I’m still so tired all the time.

CFS AFFECTS MY CAREER?

And it’s now at the point where I’m seriously thinking about whether I can do this as an actual career. For a long time I thought that doing some sort of freelance work would be the best. I thought it would be easier that way to work around my varying health. But now I’m starting to realise that having CFS could actually make working freelance even harder. The college course I’m on is set up almost exactly how you would find it in an actual design studio. We don’t have specific classes we have projects that we are given a specific amount of time to work on. This may be a week or it could even be a month.

But this means that getting the project finish for the hand in date is really important because thats how it would be in the real work. You can’t go to an actual client and be all “sorry the work wasn’t finished on time cause I had a sore throat”. But the thing is you can kind of do that in college, you’re not really supposed to but you can. And my CFS makes hitting those deadlines really difficult. But it’s something I have to do cause thats how it will be in the real world.

Thanks for reading.
Find me on Twitter, Facebook


Posted

in

by

Comments

8 responses to “Can I Be A Graphic Designer With CFS”

  1. jessicacrafts Avatar
    jessicacrafts

    I’m sorry your struggling. I’m really enjoying seeing your posts from college. All I can say (and I know it’s easier said than done) is try to concentrate on the now. Because stressing and worrying about later is only going to drain you more. You can figure out how to navigate that hurdle when you get to it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. bluchickenninja Avatar

      I’m glad someone likes them ๐Ÿ™‚ I dunno, I think I’m stressing out more than normal because the cfs is a little worse than normal. But I’m pretty sure thats just because the cold weather is coming in. So basically you’re right.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. resili0 Avatar
    resili0

    I don’t have any clever solutions but I hear you; I know what it is like to be trying to find that level of functioning and hitting walls in the process.

    You are a talented person and I feel that you will find a place that values your work and will pay for it, CFS time demands and all. Neil Gaiman says in his freelance tips, people get work because they are pleasant to deal with, the work is good and they are on time, but two out of those three is still enough. Your work looks great and you seem like a person with a conscientious work ethic who is a pleasure to deal with.

    You can do it.

    Like

    1. bluchickenninja Avatar

      Thanks. I really need to have a look at that Neil Gaiman thing. It sounds interesting.

      Like

  3. Aimer Boyz Avatar
    Aimer Boyz

    Jessica made a good point. Get through the course first and worry about how to make it all work later. Perhaps, being up front with your future clients would take the pressure off which would help the CFS?
    You can do this ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. bluchickenninja Avatar

      Yeah I suppose not worrying about it just now is the best thing to do.

      Like

      1. Aimer Boyz Avatar
        Aimer Boyz

        One worry at a time ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. bluchickenninja Avatar

        You’re right but I’m not very good at doing that.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply